top of page


Nobel Peace Prize Winners 2018


The Nobel Peace Prize 2018 was awarded jointly to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad "for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict."

NPP Winners 2018.JPG

Doctor Denis Mukwege 

Dr. Mukwege is a renowned gynecologist and human rights activist from East Congo, Africa.  He is a leading specialist in treating individuals of wartime sexual violence and an global advocate against using rape as a weapon in war.   


Learn more about Doctor Mukwege:


Nobel Peace Prize: Denis Mukwege


The Mukwege Foundation

BBC Nobel Peace Prize winner: Denis Mukwege from DR Congo

Nadia Murad 

Nadia Murad, is a survivor of kidnap, abuse and sexual violence at the hands of the Islamic State in 2014.  She managed to escape to a refugee camp and eventually flee to Germany, where she now resides.  Nadia works to help women and children who are victims of sexual violence and human trafficking. 

Learn more about Nadia Murad:


Nobel Peace Prize: Nadia Murad

Nadia's Initiative 

BBC Nadia Murad - from rape survivor in Iraq to Nobel Peace Prize

bottom of page